You Are The Lord Who Sees Me

Every year in July I go to a church camp called Haskell Singing School.  In a nutshell, Singing School is a praise camp.  We sing all week long and learn about music, especially from an a cappella standpoint.  If you are curious about this place, I wrote this post a while back.  Each year I write a song, and this year (as well as last year) I collaborated with my good friends Bryan Nix and Robert Nix.  After I wrote the lyrics, I told Bryan that I wanted a contemporary-sounding feel, like what you would hear on the radio today.  The following is what we came up with, and I’m really happy with it.  Disclaimer: this was done entirely without the use of professional equipment. The credits for the following song are as follows:

  • Lyrics: James Prather
  • Melody: Bryan Nix
  • Original a cappella arrangement: Robert Nix
  • Instrumental Arrangement: Bryan Nix
  • Acoustic Guitar, Electric Guitar, Vocals: Bryan Nix.
  • Percussion: Eduardo Diaz.
  • Acapella version: Robert Nix (all parts).

Listen to the song: My Eyes Are Forever On The Lord (instrumental) or My Eyes are Forever on the Lord (acapella).

This song is entirely rooted in scripture, so bonus points to anyone who can figure out where it’s from (there are at least 3 different places).  What do you think?

Peace,

James

6 thoughts on “You Are The Lord Who Sees Me

  1. Beautiful!!! James, how old do you have to be to go to Singing School? I have a budding singer here at home. I think in a few years, she would really enjoy that!

    • Ann,

      I believe the minimum age for Haskell Praise Camp is 11, though they can go younger with a parent. I absolutely love it. :)

      Next year will be July 10 – 15, 2011. For more information, call the church office at: (940) 864-3101. I think pretty soon they will have a website for it, but for now you gotta call for info.

      Peace,
      James

Leave a Reply

